May 2-8, 2016

2013 Finalists and Winners

The winners have been announced! Read the press release here.
Watch the awards ceremony!

Digital Toolkit

Visit our Digital Toolkit for free resources to use to spread the vote!

Kindergarten to Second Grade Book of the Year

Winner: Nighttime Ninja by Barbara DaCosta, illustrated by Ed Young (Little, Brown)

Finalists Big Mean Mike by Michelle Knudsen, illustrated by Scott Magoon (Candlewick)
The Duckling Gets a Cookie!? by Mo Willems (Hyperion Books/Disney)
I’ll Save You Bobo! by Eileen Rosenthal, illustrated by Marc Rosenthal (Atheneum Books for Young Readers/Simon & Schuster)
Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons, created and illustrated by James Dean, story by Eric Litwin (HarperCollins Children's Books)

Third Grade to Fourth Grade Book of the Year

Winner: Bad Kitty for President by Nick Bruel (Roaring Brook/Macmillan)

Finalists Get the Scoop on Animal Poop! by Dawn Cusick (Imagine/Charlesbridge)
Homer by Shelley Rotner, illustrated by Diane deGroat (Scholastic)
Just Joking by National Geographic Kids (National Geographic Children’s Books)
Pluto Visits Earth! by Steve Metzger, illustrated by Jared Lee (Scholastic)

Fifth Grade to Sixth Grade Book of the Year

Winner: Dork Diaries 4: Tales from a Not-So-Graceful Ice Princess by Rachel Renée Russell (Aladdin/Simon & Schuster)

Finalists Liar & Spy by Rebecca Stead (Wendy Lamb Books/Random House)
Pickle: The (Formerly) Anonymous Prank Club of Fountain Point Middle School by Kim Baker, illustrated by Tim Probert (Roaring Brook/Macmillan)
Rebel McKenzie by Candice Ransom (Hyperion Books/Disney)
Stickman Odyssey, Book 2: The Wrath of Zozimos by Christopher Ford (Philomel/Penguin)

Teen Book of the Year

Winner: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (Dutton/Penguin)

Finalists Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, Book 1) by Marissa Meyer (Feiwel & Friends/Macmillan)
City of Lost Souls (Mortal Instruments) by Cassandra Clare (Margaret K. McElderry Books/Simon & Schuster)
Insurgent by Veronica Roth (Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins)
Rapture: A Fallen Novel by Lauren Kate (Delacorte/Random House)

Author of the Year

Winner: Jeff Kinney for Diary of a Wimpy Kid 7: The Third Wheel (Amulet Books/Abrams)

Finalists John Green for The Fault in Our Stars (Dutton/Penguin)
R. J. Palacio for Wonder (Knopf Books for Young Readers/Random House)
Rick Riordan for The Mark of Athena (Heroes of Olympus, Book 3) (Hyperion Books/Disney)
Veronica Roth for Insurgent (Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins)

Illustrator of the Year

Winner: Robin Preiss Glasser for Fancy Nancy and the Mermaid Ballet (HarperCollins)

Finalists James Dean for Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons (HarperCollins)
Anna Dewdney for Llama Llama Time to Share (Viking/Penguin)
Ian Falconer for Olivia and the Fairy Princesses (Atheneum Books for Young Readers/Simon & Schuster)
Mo Willems for The Duckling Gets a Cookie!? (Hyperion Books/Disney)